japan · job hunting · travel

Moving to Japan w/o Anything

Part 1: Packing up and going

Moving to Japan is something that I’ve always wanted to do before I get too old. I’m 25 now, fresh out of college, and I don’t want to wait any longer. Correct me if I’m wrong but, I feel like, the longer you wait, the more you’re going to miss out on opportunities. If I wait a couple of more years to move to Japan, then I have this fear that learning Japanese will be harder; getting an entry level job would be harder; meeting new people will be harder.

I imagined my move to Japan to be more a more smooth move than how it’s actually going. I thought I would already have a job lined up before moving there. But on the contrary, I’ll be moving there early with 2 suit cases and barely any money saved up (not even $1000.) I’ll be staying at friend’s places and applying to jobs there, living frugally and saving money as much as possible.

The reason why I’m moving there despite not having a job lined up is there will be a career forum for exchange students in July. For those who don’t know what a career forum is, it’s basically job hunting fair. Though I’m technically not an exchange student anymore, I do want to try to go there to find a job because I’m foreign, and I hope they will recognize that I’m attending this out of my own pocket money. In other words, I hope they realize that I’m well invested in my future.

My biggest worry is obviously stability. Unlike other people who graduated with cool degrees like computer science, IT, or Art, I graduated with a Japanese degree. That’s great and all but, aside from the language knowledge that I don’t even have any fluency of, I don’t have many other skills.

But I’ve already bought my tickets and I’ll be contacting friends soon so I can maybe stay at their places. Ideally I want most of my money going to food and transport. No souvenirs or game center budget here. So there is no turning back. If I fail to get better in Japanese or fail to find a job within two or three months, I will go back to the States and find a job here. But hopefully it won’t come to that.

One thought on “Moving to Japan w/o Anything

  1. good luck!

    question for you– is there something particular in Japan that is calling you? If you were going to say back in the states and do something not-necessarily-Japanese, what would it be?

    Like

Leave a Reply

